Our City is made up of three wards with three Councillors elected to represent each ward. The Councillors were elected for a four-year term on Saturday 22 October 2016. The Mayor is elected annually by the Councillors.

The nine Councillors are elected as representatives of all residents and ratepayers within the municipality, providing a link between the community and Council. They are responsible for setting the strategic direction for the City, establishing and guiding policies, setting service delivery standards and monitoring organisational performance.