Due to the COVID-19 restrictions

our Customer Service Centre at Town Hall is closed. We are still receiving and responding to requests and questions via phone and through online channels. Find out more about COVID-19 and what Council is doing in our COVID-19 services update.

Election information

Get information about the previous election, our Election Period Policy and donation returns.

On This Page

Council election results

Following the October 2016 elections, Glen Eira’s 2016–2020 Council was officially sworn in at a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 8 November 2016.

Camden Ward

Rosstown Ward

Tucker Ward

Cr Mary Delahunty

Cr Margaret Esakoff

Cr Jamie Hyams

Cr Joel Silver

Cr Clare Davey

Cr Jim Magee

Cr Dan Sztrajt

Cr Tony Athanasopoulos

Cr Anne-Marie Cade*

*Newly elected councillor

For election result details, visit the Victorian Electoral Commission website.

Cr Nina Taylor resigned on 12 December 2018 after being successfully elected as the Member for the Southern Metropolitan Region. The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) conducted a countback of votes on 9 January 2019. Anne-Marie Cade was the successful candidate. Cr Cade was sworn in on 10 January 2019, replacing Cr Taylor.

Our election period policy

Required by the Local Government Act 1989, an election period policy aims to ensure that:

  • Council will not use its resources for electoral purposes
  • Council will not make decisions during the election period which pre-empts incoming governments
  • Council information is equally available to all candidates.

You can get a free hard copy of the election period policy at our Service Centre, corner Glen Eira and Hawthorn Roads, Caulfield.

You can also download a copy of the Election Period Policy (PDF, 98KB).

Election campaign donation returns disclosure

Section 62(1) of the Local Government Act 1989 requires all candidates to submit an election campaign donation return to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) within 40 days of election day.

Section 62A requires the CEO to submit a written report to the Minister within 14 days after the period specified in section 62(1). It should specify the names of the election candidates and those who submitted Returns under section 62(1).

Section 62A(2) of the Act requires the CEO to ensure that they publish a summary of each return on Council’s website, within 14 days after the period specified in section 62(1).

Council must display this summary on its website until the entitlement date for the next general election.

Download the Election Campaign Donation Returns 2016 (PDF, 100KB).