

GLEN EIRA CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 13 NOVEMBER 2019

MINUTES

Meeting was held in the Council Chambers, Corner Hawthorn & Glen Eira Roads, Caulfield at 6.33pm

Present

Councillor Tony Athanasopoulos
Councillor Anne-Marie Cade
Councillor Clare Davey
Councillor Mary Delahunty
Councillor Margaret Esakoff
Councillor Jamie Hyams
Councillor Jim Magee
Councillor Joel Silver
Councillor Dan Sztrajt

INDEX

1.	ACK	(NOWLEDGEMENT	3
2.	APC	DLOGIES	3
3.	OAT	TH OF OFFICE AND DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS	3
4.	PRE	ESENTATION OF OFFICER REPORTS	4
	4.2	Election of the Mayor Election of the Deputy Mayor Appointments of Councillors to External Committees and Advisory Commi	4 ittees
5	CI C	OSURE OF MEETING	8



The Chief Executive Officer Rebecca McKenzie opened the meeting and welcomed, councillors, council officers, members of the gallery and press. The CEO advised that she was the temporary chair at this stage of the meeting in accordance with Council's Meeting Procedure Local Law and advised that Council's Ordinary and Special meetings are all livestreamed to provide the community greater access to council's debate and decision making processes.

The CEO called for nominations for a temporary chairperson for the meeting.

Moved: Cr Esakoff Seconded: Cr Silver

That Council appoints Cr Hyams as temporary chairperson.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Cr Hyams took the Chair as Temporary Chairperson.

1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

On behalf of Council, Cr Hyams read the acknowledgement.

GLEN EIRA CITY COUNCIL RESPECTFULLY ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THE BOON WURRUNG PEOPLE OF THE KULIN NATION ARE THE TRADITIONAL OWNERS OF THE LAND NOW KNOWN AS GLEN EIRA. WE PAY OUR RESPECTS TO THEIR ELDERS PAST, PRESENT AND EMERGING AND ACKNOWLEDGE AND UPHOLD THEIR CONTINUING RELATIONSHIP TO AND RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS LAND.

2. APOLOGIES NIL

3. OATH OF OFFICE AND DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS

Oath of Office

Cr Hyams read the Oath of Office and requirement for disclosure of conflicts of interest.

Councillors are reminded that we remain bound by our Oath of Office to undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people of the municipal district of Glen Eira and to faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in us under the Local Government Act or any other Act, to the best of our skill and judgement.

Councillors are also reminded of the requirement for disclosure of conflicts of interest in relation to items listed for consideration on the Agenda, or which are considered at this meeting, in accordance with Sections 77 to 79 of the Local Government Act.

Cr Hyams as Temporary Chairperson requested the Chief Executive Officer, Rebecca McKenzie to preside over item 4.1 – Election of the Mayor and item 4.2 - Election of the Deputy Mayor pursuant to clauses 19 and 20 of Council's Meeting Procedure Local Law and in accordance with Section 71 of the Local Government Act 1989.

4. PRESENTATION OF OFFICER REPORTS

4.1 ELECTION OF THE MAYOR

The Chief Executive officer called for nominations for office of Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2019/20 Council year.

Nomination 1 – Cr Hyams nominated Cr Margaret Esakoff for the role of Mayor. Cr Esakoff accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received for the Office of Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Margaret Esakoff, Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2019/20 Council Year.

4.2 ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The Chief Executive officer called for nominations for office of Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2019/20 Council year.

Nomination 1 – Cr Esakoff nominated Cr Dan Sztrajt for the role of Deputy Mayor. Cr Sztrajt accepted the nomination.

No further nominations were received for the Office of Deputy Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Dan Sztrajt, Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2019/20 Council Year.

The Chief Executive Officer invited Cr Esakoff to come forward and take the Chair as Mayor of Glen Eira City Council.

The Councillors congratulated Cr Esakoff and Cr Sztrajt for their successful nominations as Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the final year of the council term.

Councillors then expressed their gratitude to the immediate past Mayor, Cr Hyams for his leadership and contribution to the community and Council and the work undertaken through the 2018/19 council year and to Cr Silver for his work throughout the year as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor, Cr Esakoff made an acceptance speech in her role as Mayor. She thanked her fellow Councillors for their support and also thanked the immediate past Mayor, Cr Hyams for his contribution to Council in his role as Mayor. Cr Esakoff thanked Cr Silver for his contribution to Council over the past year as Deputy Mayor.

The Mayor made a presentation to the immediate past Mayor, Cr Hyams.

It is recorded that Cr Delahunty left the Chamber at 7.23pm and did not return to the meeting.

Cr Sztrajt in his role as Deputy Mayor also thanked his fellow Councillors for their support.

4.3 APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILLORS TO EXTERNAL COMMITTEES AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Moved: Cr Silver Seconded: Cr Athanasopoulos

That Council:

- appoints Councillors to the External Committees and Council's Advisory Committees listed below for the 2019/20 Council year with the following changes;
 - a) Citizen of the Year Advisory Committee to include Cr Sztrajt,
 - b) Community Engagement Advisory Committee Cr Hyams to replace Cr Magee; and
- 2. appoints Cr Sztrajt, Cr Esakoff and Cr Magee to the Community Safety Committee reference group.

External Committees

Councillors appointed 2018/19 year	Councillors appointed 2019/20 year
Cr Delahunty – representative Cr Davey - substitute	Cr Delahunty – representative Cr Davey - substitute
Cr Magee - representative	Cr Athanasopoulos – representative
Cr Athanasopoulos - substitute	Cr Magee - substitute
Cr Magee – representative	Cr Magee – representative Cr Esakoff - substitute
	2018/19 year Cr Delahunty – representative Cr Davey - substitute Cr Magee - representative Cr Athanasopoulos - substitute Cr Magee –

Council's Advisory Committees

Committee	Councillors appointed	Councillors appointed
	2018/19 year	2019/20 year
Arts & Culture Advisory	Cr Esakoff	Cr Esakoff
Committee	Cr Delahunty	Cr Hyams
	Cr Hyams	Cr Silver
	Cr Cade	Cr Cade
Audit and Risk Committee	Cr Magee	Cr Magee
	Cr Delahunty	Cr Delahunty
	Cr Athanasopoulos – substitute	Cr Athanasopoulos – substitute
		Mayor as substitute
	Cr J Hyams	
CEO Employment Matters Committee	All Councillors	All Councillors

Citizen of the Year	Cr Davey	Cr Esakoff
	Cr Magee	Cr Cade
	Cr Silver	Cr Sztrajt
Community Engagement	Cr Cade	Cr Cade
Advisory Committee	Cr Delahunty	Cr Delahunty
	Cr Magee	Cr Hyams
Community Grants	Cr Magee	Cr Davey
Advisory Committee	Cr Esakoff	Cr Cade
	Cr Silver	Cr Sztrajt
Elsternwick Cultural	Cr Silver	Cr Silver
Precinct Advisory Committee	Cr Sztrajt	Cr Sztrajt
Committee	Cr Magee	Cr Delahunty
Local Laws Advisory	Cr Silver	Cr Silver
Committee	Cr Magee	Cr Delahunty
	Cr Delahunty	Cr Hyams
	Cr Cade	
Recreation & Leisure	Cr Silver	Cr Cade
Advisory Committee	Cr Delahunty	Cr Delahunty
	Cr Hyams	Cr Hyams
	Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Athanasopoulos
Strategic Transport	Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Athanasopoulos
Advisory Committee	Cr Davey	Cr Davey
	Cr Cade	Cr Magee
Sustainability Advisory	Cr Davey	Cr Davey
Committee	Cr Sztrajt	Cr Sztrajt
	Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Athanasopoulos

Reference Group

TCIOIOTOTO GIOGP				
Committee	Councillors appointed	Councillors appointed		
	2018/19 year	2019/20 year		
Community Safety	Cr Sztrajt	Cr Sztrajt		
Committee	Cr Esakoff	Cr Esakoff		
	Cr Magee	Cr Magee		

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Mayor extended an invitation to those present to adjourn to the Caulfield Cup Room for refreshments.

5 .	CLOSURE OF MEETING

The meeting closed at 7.33pm.

Confirmed this 26th November 2019

Chairperson.....