

GLEN EIRA CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING

WEDNESDAY 31 OCTOBER 2018

MINUTES

Meeting was held in the Council Chambers, Corner Hawthorn & Glen Eira Roads, Caulfield at 7.30pm

Present

Councillor Tony Athanasopoulos Councillor Clare Davey Councillor Mary Delahunty Councillor Margaret Esakoff Councillor Jamie Hyams Councillor Jim Magee Councillor Joel Silver Councillor Dan Sztrajt

INDEX

1.	ACKNOWLEDGEMENT	3
2.	APOLOGIES	3
3.	OATH OF OFFICE AND DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS	4
4.	PRESENTATION OF OFFICER REPORTS	5
	 4.1 Election of the Mayor	5
5.	CLOSURE OF MEETING	c



The Chief Executive Officer Rebecca McKenzie opened the meeting and welcomed the family and friends of the Councillors and members of the community. She acknowledged the traditional owners of the land, the Boon Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation.

The CEO advised that she will be temporarily Chairing the meeting in accordance with Clause 211 of the Glen Eira City Council Local Law and advised that all Council's Ordinary and Special Meetings are now live-streamed to provide the community with greater access to Council debate and the decision-making process.

The Chief Executive Officer called for a Temporary Chair.

Moved: Cr Delahunty Seconded: Cr Magee

That Council appoints Cr Athanasopoulos as Temporary Chairperson.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

Cr Athanasopoulos took the Chair as Temporary Chairperson.

1. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

On behalf of Council, Cr Athanasopoulos read the acknowledgement.

In the spirit of respect Council acknowledges the people and elders of the Boon Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation past and present and emerging who have traditional connections and responsibilities for the land on which Council meets.

2. APOLOGIES

Moved: Cr Delahunty Seconded: Cr Magee

That the apology from Cr Taylor be received and noted.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. OATH OF OFFICE AND DISCLOSURES OF INTERESTS

Oath of Office

Cr Athanasopoulos read the Oath of Office and Disclosures of Interest.

Councillors are reminded that we remain bound by our Oath of Office to undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people of the municipal district of Glen Eira and to faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in us under the Local Government Act or any other Act, to the best of our skill and judgement.

Councillors are also reminded of the requirement for disclosure of conflicts of interest in relation to items listed for consideration on the Agenda, or which are considered at this meeting, in accordance with Sections 77 to 79 of the Local Government Act.

Cr Athanasopoulos as Temporary Chairperson requested the CEO Rebecca McKenzie to preside over items 4.1 and 4.2, the election of the Mayor and Deputy Mayor pursuant to sections 211 of Council's Local Law and in accordance with Section 71 of the Local Government Act 1989.

4. PRESENTATION OF OFFICER REPORTS

The CEO called for nominations for office of Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2018/19 Council year.

Nomination 1 - Cr Tony Athanasopoulos nominated Cr Jamie Hyams for the role of Mayor.

Cr Hyams accepted the nomination for the role of Mayor.

No further nominations were received for the Office of the Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Hyams Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2018/19 Council Year.

4.2 {TC "4.2 Election of the Deputy Mayor" \12 }ELECTION OF THE DEPUTY MAYOR

The CEO called for nominations for office of Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2018/19 Council year.

Nomination 1 - Cr Jamie Hyams nominated Cr Joel Silver

Cr Silver accepted the nomination for Deputy Mayor.

No further nominations were received for the office of the Deputy Mayor.

The Chief Executive Officer declared Cr Silver Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council for the 2018/19 Council Year.

The CEO invited Cr Hyams to come forward and take the Chair as Mayor of Glen Eira City Council.

The Councillors congratulated Cr Hyams and Cr Silver for their successful nominations as Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Glen Eira City Council.

It is recorded that Cr Delahunty left the Chamber at 7.44pm and did not return to the meeting.

Councillors expressed their appreciation to Cr Athanasopoulos as outgoing Mayor for his contribution to the community and Council over the past twelve months.

The Mayor, Cr Hyams made an acceptance speech in his role as Mayor. He thanked his fellow Councillors for their support and praised the immediate past Mayor, Cr Athanasopoulos for his contribution to Council and his work within the community over the past twelve months. Cr Hyams spoke of the positive relationship between Councillors and Council officers and that he is looking forward to the year ahead.

The Mayor made a presentation to the immediate past Mayor, Cr Athanasopoulos.

Cr Silver in his role as Deputy Mayor made an acceptance speech also thanking his fellow Councillors for their support.

Moved: Cr Silver Seconded: Cr Athanasopoulos

That Council:

1. appoints Councillors to the External Committees and Council's Advisory Committees listed below for the 2018/19 Council year.

External Committees

Committee	Date appointed	Councillors appointed 2017/18 year	Councillors appointed 2018/19 year
Metropolitan Local Government Waste	31 October 2018	Cr Taylor – representative	Cr Delahunty – representative
Forum		Cr Davey - substitute	Cr Taylor
Metropolitan Transport Forum	31 October 2018	Cr Athanasopoulos – representative	Cr Magee - representative
(MTF)			Cr Athanasopoulos - substitute
Municipal Association of	31 October 2018	Cr Taylor – representative	Cr Magee – representative
Victoria (MAV)		Cr Esakoff - substitute	Cr Esakoff - substitute

Council's Advisory Committees

Committee	Date appointed	Councillors appointed 2017/18 year	Councillors appointed 2018/19 year
Arts & Culture Advisory Committee	31 October 2018	Cr Esakoff Cr Delahunty Cr Hyams	Cr Esakoff Cr Delahunty Cr Hyams
Audit and Risk Committee	31 October 2018	Cr Magee Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Silver Cr Delahunty Cr Athanasopoulos – substitute
CEO Employment Matters Committee	31 October 2018	All Councillors	All Councillors

Citizen of the Year	31 October 2018	Cr Davey	Cr Davey
		Cr Sztrajt	Cr Magee
		Cr Magee	Cr Silver
Community	31 October 2018	Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Taylor
Engagement Advisory		Cr Delahunty	Cr Delahunty
Committee		Cr Hyams	Cr Magee
Community Grants	31 October 2018	Cr Hyams	Cr Magee
Advisory Committee		Cr Esakoff	Cr Esakoff
Committee		Cr Delahunty	Cr Silver
Local Laws	31 October 2018	Cr Silver	Cr Silver
Advisory Committee		Cr Magee	Cr Magee
		Cr Delahunty	Cr Delahunty
Memorial Structure	31 October 2018	Cr Silver	Cr Silver
for Holocaust Survivors Project		Cr Sztrajt	Cr Sztrajt
Working Group		Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Magee
Recreation &	31 October 2018	Cr Silver	Cr Silver
Leisure Advisory Committee		Cr Taylor	Cr Delahunty
		Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Hyams
			Cr Athanasopoulos
Strategic Transport	31 October 2018	Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr
Advisory Committee		Cr Davey	Athanasopoulos
		Cr Magee	Cr Davey
0 1 1 1 111		0.0	Cr Taylor
Sustainability Advisory	31 October 2018	Cr Davey	Cr Davey
Committee		Cr Taylor	Cr Taylor
		Cr Sztrajt	Cr Sztrajt

- 2. changes the title in the Terms of Reference for the Audit Committee to read Audit and Risk Committee; and
- 3. changes the title in the Terms of Reference for the Community Consultation Advisory Committee to read Community Engagement Advisory Committee

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The Mayor extended an invitation to those present to adjourn to the Caulfield Cup Room for refreshments.

5. CLOSURE OF MEETING

The meeting closed at 8.20pm.

Confirmed this 7th day of November 2018.

Chairperson.....