

GLEN EIRA CITY COUNCIL

SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

1 November 2017

7.30 pm

Present:

Councillor Tony Athanasopoulos Councillor Clare Davey Councillor Margaret Esakoff Councillor Jamie Hyams Councillor Jim Magee Councillor Joel Silver Councillor Nina Taylor

Officers:

Rebecca McKenzie Ron Torres Peter Jones Samantha Krull Peter Swabey Janice Pouw



SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL to be held in the Council Chamber, Glen Eira Council Offices, corner Hawthorn Road and Glen Eira Road, Caulfield on Wednesday 1 November 2017 at 7.30pm

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed Councillors and members of the gallery to the Special Meeting of Council.

The CEO congratulated the Councillors for what they have achieved in the first year of their term as Councillors and advised that she is looking forward to working with the Councillors and officers over the next three years.

ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for a Temporary Chairperson.

Mover: Cr Hyams Seconded: Cr Silver

That Council appoints Cr Magee as a Temporary Chairperson.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

1. **ACKNOWLEDGEMENT**

Cr Magee to read the acknowledgement.

In the spirit of respect Council acknowledges the people and elders of the Boon Wurrung people of the Kulin Nation past and present who have traditional connections and responsibilities for the land on which Council meets.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies have been submitted from Cr Delahunty and Cr Sztrajt for this meeting.

Moved: Cr Silver Seconded: Cr Athanasopoulos

That the apologies of Cr Delahunty and Cr Sztrajt be received and noted.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

3. OATH OF OFFICE AND DISCLOSURE OF INTEREST

Councillors are reminded that we remain bound by our Oath of Office to undertake the duties of the office of Councillor in the best interests of the people of the municipal district of Glen Eira and to faithfully and impartially carry out the functions, powers, authorities and discretions vested in us under the Local Government Act or any other Act, to the best of our skill and judgement.

Councillors are also reminded of the requirement for disclosure of conflicts of interest in relation to items listed for consideration on the Agenda, or which are considered at this meeting, in accordance with Sections 77 to 79 of the Local Government Act.

1	FI FCTION	OF THE MAYO	R AND DEDI	ITY MAYOR
4.	ELECTION	OF THE MATC	IR AND DEF	UIIIWAIUR

4.1 Election of the Mayor

Moved: Cr Magee Seconded: Cr Silver

That Council defers the election of the Mayor to a future Council meeting.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

4.2 Election of the Deputy Mayor

Moved: Cr Magee Seconded: Cr Esakoff

That Council defers the election of the Deputy Mayor to a future Council meeting.

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

5. <u>APPOINTMENTS OF COUNCILLORS TO EXTERNAL COMMITTEES AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES</u>

Moved: Cr Hyams Seconded: Cr Esakoff

That Council appoints Councillors as their representatives and a substitute to the External Committees and Advisory Committees listed below for the 2017/18 Council year.

External Committees

Committee	Date appointed	Councillors appointed 2016/17 year	Councillors appointed 2017/18 year
Metropolitan Local Government Waste Forum	13 December 2016	Cr Silver - representative	Cr Taylor – representative Cr Davey - substitute
Metropolitan Transport Forum (MTF)	13 December 2016	Cr Athanasopoulos – representative Cr Silver – substitute	Cr Athanasopoulos – representative
Municipal Association of Victoria (MAV)	13 December 2016	Cr Esakoff – representative Cr Taylor – substitute	Cr Taylor – representative Cr Esakoff - substitute
Victorian Local Governance Association	15 August 2017	Cr Taylor - representative	Cr Silver – representative Cr Taylor – substitute

Council's Advisory Committees

Committee	Date appointed	Councillors appointed 2016/17 year	Councillors appointed 2017/18 year
Arts & Culture Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Esakoff Cr Delahunty Cr Hyams	Cr Esakoff Cr Delahunty Cr Hyams
Audit Committee	15 November 2016	Cr Magee Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Magee Cr Athanasopoulos
CEO Employment Matters Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Delahunty Cr Magee Cr Silver	Disband
Citizen of the Year	15 November 2016	Cr Davey Cr Hyams Cr Silver	Cr Davey Cr Sztrajt Cr Magee
Community Consultation Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Athanasopoulos Cr Sztrajt Cr Hyams	Cr Athanasopoulos Cr Delahunty Cr Hyams

Community Grants Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Sztrajt Cr Athanasopoulos Cr Taylor	Cr Hyams Cr Esakoff Cr Delahunty
Local Laws Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	No appointments (minimum 3 Councillors)	Cr Silver Cr Magee Cr Delahunty
Recreation & Leisure Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Silver Cr Taylor Cr Hyams Cr Athanasopoulos	Cr Silver Cr Taylor Cr Athanasopoulos
Strategic Transport Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Athanasopoulos Cr Davey Cr Magee	Cr Athanasopoulos Cr Davey Cr Magee
Sustainability Advisory Committee	7 February 2017	Cr Taylor Cr Davey Cr Delahunty	Cr Davey Cr Taylor Cr Sztrajt

CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY

The T	emporary (Chairperson (Cr Magee ded	clared the meeting c	losed at 7.37pm.
-------	------------	---------------	--------------	----------------------	------------------

Confirmed this 8 Day of November 2017

Chairperson: